IHHS Class of 2022 - Indian Head High School held a ceremony for its 40 graduates on June 10 where diplomas were presented as well as numerous scholarships and awards. Master of Ceremonies Trevor Vierguts also shared the student’s future plans along with a humorous description of their supposed secret ambitions.

Forty young men and women sat on the stage at Indian Head High School last Friday afternoon to participate in this year’s graduation ceremony. The gym was filled with friends and family members who were happy for the return to celebrating in person with the graduates.
Following Abbeygail May’s performance of the national anthem and the signing of a flag song and victory song, Math Teacher Trevor Viergutz served as master of ceremonies and acknowledged the special guests in attendance.
Speeches by Principal Shawn Morris, valedictorian Jezelle Miller and salutatorian Kaden Royer reflected on the lessons already learned and opportunities they would still encounter.
“Living with the pandemic has given us a unique schooling experience that we all shared. It is because of this experience that we have learned how to adapt, have gratitude and be resilient,” Miller said, noting that these skills would be valuable for their future.
Similarly, Royer acknowledged that challenges would continue to be a part of life for the graduates.
“In our journey there will be many hardships, difficulties and hurdles for which we have been given the tools to overcome; we will overcome because of the strong values of our community, our families and of course our friends,” he stated. “We will fail but do not fear failure. Instead we will learn from it and grow as a result of it.”
Numerous awards and scholarships were distributed to the graduates during the ceremony. Students who had demonstrated academic proficiency and consistently achieved honor roll status were also acknowledged. In addition, there was a cultural presentation as two students received a Metis sash.
The program concluded with an honor song and a slideshow of photos for each graduate.
Indian Head High School Graduation Awards & Scholarships
PVSD Student Success – Chase McNabb
PVSD Achievement Award – Declan Heslip
Brian Baker Giv’er Award – Jezelle Miller
Creative Writing Award – Bridget Stiglitz
Dale Buglass Award – Katherine McAtee
Don Ramsay Leadership – Caitlyn Storry
Elsie Campbell Award – Caitlyn Storry
Qu’Appelle Lodge #6 Citizenship Award – Caitlyn Storry
Elk’s Award – Owen Woidyla
Flatland Cruisers Automotive Scholarship – Owne Woidyla
Flatland Cruisers Tech School Scholarship – Kodi Webster
Gares Family Athletic Award – Katherine McAtee
IHHS Academic Award of Excellence – Jezelle Miller & Joseph Intia
IHHS Staff Leadership Scholarship – Jezelle Miller
Indian Head & District Lions Technical/College Scholarship – Jezelle Miller
Indian Head & District Lions Scholarship – Declan Heslip
Band Leadership – Kaden Royer
Concert Band Award – Kasey Simpson
Instrumental Jazz Award – Caitlyn Storry
Band Heart & Soul Award – Declan Heslip
Indian Head Fireman’s Assoc. Scholarship – Kodi Webster
Indian Head RM #156 Scholarship – Owen Woidyla & Lyndsey Skinner
Indian Head Stage Left Players Scholarship – Declan Heslip
Indian Head Wildlife Federation Scholarship – Jezelle Miller
Masonic Lodge Citizenship Scholarship – Jenna Schmidt
Paul Bisram Award – Chase McNabb
Royal Purple Scholarship – Jezelle Miller
Sharon Tibeau Memorial Scholarship – Kaden Royer
SRC School Governance Scholarship – Jezelle Miller
Kye Ball Memorial Award – Jenna Schmidt
Indian Head Legion Tech School Bursary – Kodi Webster
Indian Head Legion University Bursary – Katherine McAtee
Visual Arts Award – Myranda Edenloff
Willerth Family STEM Scholarship – Dylan Dickson

Previous articleRATHGEBER – Larry John
Next articleCst. Shelby Patton Memorial unveiled